The Clear Word 

A Ministry Of Mid-State Ministries  


Old Testament Survey
Lesson Three



(The Book of Holiness)

      Author:  Moses

    Date: 1450-1410 B.C.

    Name of the Book:

    Leviticus receives its name from the Septuagint and means “relating to the Levites.” 

The Levites were the priests who were chosen of God to minister to the nation. The book of Leviticus contains many of the laws given by God to direct them in their work as priests for the worship of God.

    Theme and Purpose

   Leviticus 11:45 says, “Be holy, because I am holy.” The directives given in the book of Leviticus showed Israel was to walk before God as a holy people. Leviticus was designed to teach Israel

 (1) how to worship and walk with God and 

(2) how the nation was to fulfill its calling as a nation of priests. The great theme of Leviticus is holiness. A holy God can only be approached on the basis of sacrifice through the mediation of a priest.

    Key Word


    Key Verses

         17:11 For the life of the flesh is in the blood, and I have given it to you on the altar to
         make atonement for your souls; for it is the blood by reason of the life that makes 


         20:7-8 You shall consecrate yourselves therefore and be holy, for I am the LORD your

8 And you shall keep My statutes and practice them; I am the LORD who sanctifies  you

 (see also 11:45).

    Key Chapter

    Chapter 16 deals with the Day of Atonement, which became the most important day in the Hebrew calendar because it was the only day the high priest was allowed to enter into the Holy of Holies in order to make atonement for the people. “… for it is on this day that atonement shall be made for you to cleanse you; you shall be clean from all your sins before the LORD” (16:30).

    Key People

    Moses and Aaron.

    Christ as Seen in Leviticus

    Similar to Exodus, a number of types of Christ are evident in Leviticus.

    (1) The Five Offerings all typify the person and work of Christ in His sinless life, submission to the Father that we might have fellowship with God.

    (2) The High Priest as mentioned above is a very prominent type of Christ in Leviticus.

    (3) The Seven Feasts, again, as mentioned, also form a type of the Savior.


    Leviticus falls into two clear divisions: Sacrifice and Sanctification

I. Sacrifice (1-17)

    A. The Laws of Sacrifice for Approach to God (1-7)
    B. The Laws of the Priests (8-10)
    C. The Laws Regarding Purity (11-15)
    D. The Laws of National Atonement (16-17)

II. Sanctification (18-27)

    A. The Laws of Sanctification for God’s People (18-20)
    B. The Laws of Sanctification for God’s Priests (21-22)
    C. The Laws of Sanctification in Worship (23-24)
    D. The Laws of Sanctification in the Land of Canaan (25-26)
    E. The Laws of Sanctification and Vows (27) 

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.